Christoph Niemann: An Illustrated Talk with Maurice Sendak

I remember the day Maurice Sendak died, because I couldn’t bring myself to get out of bed. “We’ve lost one of us,” I kept telling my husband, as I stared blankly at the ceiling. And though I’m still unable to put the feelings into words, I know in my heart that on May 8, 2012, somehow, someway: we lost one of us.

In his September 2011 Fresh Air interview with Terry Gross, Sendak gave one of the most beautiful, stirring interviews I’ve had the pleasure of hearing in my short life. I remember listening to this interview when it first aired, sitting in a grocery store parking lot, chuckling at his wit & crying for the heartbreaking truth with which he spoke. But his words resonated with me, staying with me to this day. And they resonated with Christoph Niemann, the creator of this video, who’s beautifully illustrated the last 5 minutes of the interview.

 

“Live your life, live your life, live your life…”

One comment

Speak!

